The William McGarvey Beardless Iris Award was established by the Empire State Iris Society Board of Directors in October 1994.  The purpose of the award is to foster interest in the beardless iris cultivars and to encourage growing of beardless irises.  The award is named in honor of the late Dr. William G. McGarvey, a member of the Central New York Iris Society and a well-known Region 2 hybridizer who specialized in Siberian Irises.  

The award is given to the highest placed beardless iris of an official show.  A Best of Section rosette must be earned to meet the minimum requirements of the award.  The award is both a Perpetual Award and an Individual award. The Perpetual Award is retained by the winner for a year and passed on to the new winner at the annual Region 2 Fall Banquet.  The Individual Award is a marble paperweight engraved with the name of the award, the year, the award winner’s name, and the name of the winning iris.  This award is also presented at the Fall Banquet.

List of Winning Iris and Exhibitors

Year      Affiliate          Exhibitor                                     Cultivar_____________

1995       CNYIS      Maggie Lou Smith                  Roy Davidson (SPEC. x)
1996       STIS         Show Cancelled – not awarded
1997       CNYIS      Robert Keup                            Percheron (SIB)
1998       CHIS         Robert Keup                             Dotted Line (SINO-SIB)
1999                        No information
2000                         Robert Keup                             Mysterious Monique (LAEV)
2001       CHIS        Euthemia  Matsoukas              Blue Burn (SIB)
2002       AFIDS      Robert Keup                             Jeweled Crown (SIB)
2003       HVIDS      Robert Keup                             Ally Oops (SPEC. x)
2004       CNYIS      Robert Keup                             Bedford Lass (SIB)
2005       STIS         John Colley                                I. pseudacorus (SPEC)
2006       WNYIS     George Eisenhardt                   Snow Queen (SIB)
2007       CHIS         Patricia Salhoff                         I. graminea (SPEC)     
2008       HVIDS     Frank & Rosemary Sorbello  Salamander Crossing (SIB) 
2009       CNIS        Donna James                             Oriental Elegance (JAP)           
2010                         Not Awarded   
2011       CNYIS      Janette Smith                             Crystal Halo (JAP)
2012       CNYIS      M. J. Urist                                     Lone Star (LA)
2013                         Not Awarded
2014       CHIS        Joanne Maier                              Springs Brook
2015       WNYIS     Wendy Roller                             Creme Carmel (SIB)
2016       CHIS         Virginia Dorwaldt                      Seneca Butterfly (SIB)